11923210_868716616517058_7996639724231587212_n.jpg

You just recorded Drawing Dead: A Faolan O’Connor Novel for Audiobook and few years ago, you did Ancient Blood for me. What were the similarities and differences between the two experiences?

Well, right off the bat, I’m a lot more experienced this time around. Ancient Blood was my second audiobook and a broad departure from my first one, Glen & Tyler’s Honeymoon Adventure. There are a lot of “behind the scenes” changes I’ve made to make my life easier when recording and editing. That allows me to focus more energy on performing the book.

As far as story, the protagonists are very different. Faolan is a much more confident, active character than Avery was. That necessitates a different type of reading in both character voice as well as in the overall narration since it’s 3rd Person Limited viewpoint.

 

Was there anything in particular that you enjoyed about recording Drawing Dead? Did you get to show off any new voices or talents?

There are a variety of character accents (which I love), but also several characters with the same accent (New York) that must be differentiated for the listener’s ear. It’s a challenge, but a fun one. You spend time just saying things out-loud over and over until it’s “just right.” For example, Enzo and Arnold have high voices with New York accents. But I made Enzo talk fast (since he’s an adept car driver and clearly a speed junky) and Arnold is Jewish, so there’s a distinct dialect for that group, particularly in New York in the early 1900’s.
1176337_640816862640369_6479862501032869088_n

What have you been up to since our last interview, professionally or personally? 

I’ve completed several more audiobooks, including contributing to a full-cast production which should be out sometime this year. I’ve expanded the number of podcasts I’ve narrated for, including all three District of Wonders podcasts. They do short fiction in Fantasy, Sci-Fi, and Horror. I got to narrate the first Cast of Wonders podcast after their merger into the Escape Artists family, which was a huge honor.

Last year my son and I got to perform in our first professional theatrical production, Willy Wonka, here in Denver. That was a real treat. My daughter graduated high school and is now off to college. Things are, for the moment, blissfully quiet and calm.

 

What is the biggest misconception that people have about voice acting or voice actors?

Certain celebrities have gone on record about how easy voice acting is. That’s true, if you’re only voicing one voice (and it’s your natural voice). Professional voice actors must provide a myriad of characters for their work. In animation and games, one actor may provide up to a dozen different characters. Check out IMDB for your favorite cartoon or game and you’ll see it’s just a small crew of actors voicing the whole thing. Most voice actors have training in not just voice, but theater, singing, and improv.

Audiobooks are considered one of the toughest gigs for voice actors. It’s hours and hours of narration voicing any number of characters from little kids to the elderly to aliens and demons. It’s not for the timid.

 

Where should people go to find out more about you or to hire you?

The best place to keep track of me is on my website, TheVoicesInMyHead.com. From there you can contact me, see what’s new, or follow me on Facebook and Twitte ccr.

Thanks, Brian! Be sure to check out Brian’s amazing work on Amazon and Audible! 

Drawing Dead can be found on audiobook, paperback, and Kindle on Amazon:

http://amzn.to/2kLCIgy

About xuemertie

Author, role-player, geek.

Leave a comment