Some good thoughts on series. This kind of thing is more common than you’d think.

Kevin A. Ranson

TheMatriarchNovelsNow that The Matriarch: Changeling has published in its final form, I can share a few ideas.

It’s probably my worst-kept secret: The Matriarch was never intended to be a series. I left a few questions unanswered because I had told the story I wanted to tell: when you’ve lost everything (your dreams, your life, your best friend), how do you go on? The main character Janiss finds a way, but the story doesn’t end with “happily ever after.” How could it? The ending was intended to be satisfying, but it still leaves the mystery of “what might happen next?” with little more than “you decide.” I ended up tricking myself; I started to think about exactly what the continuing story would be and realized I wasn’t finished.

Why four planned books instead of a trilogy? A tetralogy isn’t uncommon in fiction, but the truth is I WAS writing a…

View original post 308 more words

About xuemertie

Author, role-player, geek.

One response »

  1. This all sounds vaguely familiar. Hmm.

    Like

Leave a Reply

