Fresh Blood

1. Tell us a little about yourself. How long have you been writing?

My name is Jay Wilburn. I’ve been writing badly since I was a kid. I’ve been writing slightly better and for money for a few years now. For the last year, I’ve been writing full time and probably have a few more months before I turn to a life of crime. I left teaching after sixteen years to care for the health needs of my younger son and to make a go at being writer. Sometimes it is nice to gamble on a dream every once and a while.

2. Which story did you contribute to Fresh Blood and what made you want to write that story?

My story was “Bitter.” It is about a vampire couple that is going through a harsh and vengeful separation. Each time I approach vampires as a trope, my first concern is locating the kernel of an idea that is a new point of attack. I usually take the accepted rules and characteristics of the long history of vampire fiction and I try to find the one tortured, painful aspect of that experience that I feel has not been addressed. Then, I work out the details of how that idea would play out in a realistic way under the hyper reality of a vampire’s existence. “Bitter” does that with the notion of a couple that grows apart when they potentially have eternity to do so.

3. What other work have you done?

I’ve written the novels Loose Ends: A Zombie Novel, Time Eaters, and The Great Interruption. I have a piece in Best Horror of the Year volume 5 with editor Ellen Datlow. I have a zombie story in an upcoming anthology with Permuted Press. I’m proud of that. I am currently working on organizing a collection of five novellas from me, Max Booth III, Jessica McHugh, Adam Millard, and Derek Deremer called At the Next Exit.

81Op9NPW2OL._SL1500_

4. What is it about vampires that makes you want to write about them?

I think vampires represent extremes about human nature and human history. As a trope, they allow an author to explore those aspects of human nature in an intense way.

5. What other interests do you have and how do they influence your writing?

I am taking up archery. I like to go to the beach with my family just down the road from where I live. I am a student of history. I believe in God and the Bible. I would say my study of history and the Bible informs the darker aspects and themes of my stories.

6. Give us some links where we can find your other work (if available):

http://jaywilburn.com/

http://www.amazon.com/Jay-Wilburn/e/B00BGVWV2M/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1390839113&sr=8-2-ent

 

 

About xuemertie

Author, role-player, geek.

Leave a Reply

