Fresh Blood

Hello, readers!

Today I present the first in a series of interviews with the talented authors of Vampire Writers Support Group’s first anthology, Fresh Blood! Today we have Donna Michelle Fernstrom

  • Tell us a little about yourself. How long have you been writing?

Rather odd – I used to write fiction for fun, including some fan fiction, when I was a teenager, but hadn’t written fiction for decades, when I began my novel. I did write a couple of non-fiction books, back in 2006.  When I picked up fiction again, I wrote a couple of fiction short pieces, then launched right into the novel; something I NEVER thought I would do.  I got halfway through it, over 50,000 words… and became blocked. I didn’t write another word of fiction for six years!  I don’t know what happened at that point, but the urge to write returned, and I finished the novel… then another, and another, and several short pieces.  I’m still working on the fourth. The underlying ideas, the worldbuilding and creatures in my books, those have been rolling around in my head since I was a teenager.  Perhaps it was just time for them to be born.

Which story did you contribute to Fresh Blood and what made you want to write that story?

I contributed the short story titled ‘Revelation.’  It was actually one of the very first pieces of fiction I wrote in my book universe.  It was one of the two I wrote before I began Sorrows.  I chose it because it gives a lot away about the book universe itself, and the social dynamics in it. I think it’s a good representation of the Worldwalkers Universe. It’s a stand alone piece.  These characters have not yet reappeared anywhere else… well, except for one of them who was mentioned in passing, but isn’t actually present in the story.

What other work have you done?

I’ve published the first book in the Rogue Saga, set in the Worldwalkers Universe.  It’s titled ‘Sorrows.’  I have two non-fiction metaphysical books out: Beginning Psionics: A Psionics Training Manual, and An Energy-Workers’ Guide To Real Vampirism.  Both non-fiction book are published under the pen name, Winged Wolf. The Rogue Saga will consist of four books.  The second and third have been written, and the fourth is in progress.  It’s looking as though it may be longer than the others.  I have a novelette and several other spin-off short stories complete, as well as some that are in progress.  I’m hoping to work on revising and editing book two of the Rogue Saga this year.  It’s titled Shatter.

Psionics

What is it about vampires that makes you want to write about them?

 A complex series of things. The vampires I have created show the conflict between instinct and emotion, and rational behavior, and they’re also a way to demonstrate some very important underlying themes: The idea of symbiosis, for example. How people who have different strengths and weaknesses can compensate for and complete one another.  Valuing diversity, rather than rejecting it, as human instinct so often seems to compel people to do. The potential for stories is nearly infinite.

 

What other interests do you have and how do they influence your writing?

I am involved in raising pet reptiles, and I’m also deeply involved in psychic development and paranormal studies.  The latter appears prominently in my work, as I use what I know to describe the psychic abilities in my stories; however, I took some necessary liberties with reality, when I did so.  I had to limit the range and potential of some abilities, enable better conflicts.  Since these stories are all set in alternative universes, however, I don’t feel bad about doing.

 174669_235072509974390_160150263_n

Give us some links where we can find your other work (if available):

All of my work can be found through my author website at http://www.donnafernstrom.com .  You can read an excerpt from Sorrows there, right on the site.  Sorrows is available in epub format through Smashwords, in trade paperback and Kindle formats on Amazon.com, and in pdf  and hardcover format through Lulu.com.  It’s available worldwide through Amazon subsidiaries.

 

Find Fresh Blood: Vampire Writers Support Group Anthology #1 on Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Fresh-Blood-Vampire-Writers-Support-ebook/dp/B00FYEJDPA

About xuemertie

Author, role-player, geek.

Leave a Reply

